I Am Barack Obama’s Worst Nightmare


I am a thinking, educated, intelligent, independent voter.

I am fanatical in my support for the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.  I believe that there is only one phrase that might be slightly more important than “We the People of the United States …”.  That phrase would be “In the Beginning the Lord said ‘Let there be light’…”

But the most significant thing that makes Barack Obama view me as his worst nightmare is simply this:  I tell the truth about him.  I don’t need to lie.  I don’t need to “create” a narrative.  What he has done all by himself is so appalling that any need for embellishment is stillborn.

The main stream media and kool-aid addicted left-wing pundits have praised Obama for his leadership.

I haven’t seen any evidence of leadership.  I have seen coercion.  I have seen bribery.  I have seen “bait-and-switch” policy pronouncements.  But I have not seen leadership.

Leadership is convincing people who would not normally agree with your policies, strategies, tactics or even goals that you are right, and that the policies, strategies and tactics that you are proposing to use are effective and cost efficient.  Doing that will persuade opponents that you might, just might have a shot at pulling off whatever it is that you are planning.  Saying “I won” is not leadership.  Bribing Senators to vote for your health care plan is not leadership.  Speaking over 50 times to the nation about your healthcare plan and still not achieving the support of a majority of its citizens certainly does not indicate leadership.

Obama operates according to Chicago rules.  Oppose him and he’ll turn Eric Holder loose on you.  He might have Ken Salazar put a boot on your neck.  Kathleen Sebilius might not give you a waiver that has been afforded your competitors.  Janet Napolitano might raid your place of business and demand proof that not one employee is here illegally (although she wasn’t going to deport them anyway).  Perhaps he’d threaten to have one of Lisa Jackson’s minions at the EPA crucify you.  He might force you to sit through a Joe Biden speech.  (OK, maybe even Obama wouldn’t go quite that far.)

Leadership is Jack Kennedy saying “We will send a man to the moon by the end of the decade” and convincing a sizable majority of the voters to support the idea enthusiastically.  The most vivid contrast between Jack Kennedy’s moon challenge and anything coming out of the White House recently is the fact that Kennedy’s statement did not end with these two words out of his mouth: “or else”.

Barack Obama’s leadership is apparently patterned after an earlier Progressive president.

A president who jailed those who opposed his ideas.

A president that formed committees of ordinary citizens to spy and inform on their neighbors.

A president who didn’t merely deny women contraception, but their right to vote in his own war on women.

A president who was also a college professor.

A president who also saw himself as a world shaking figure.

A President named Woodrow Wilson.

Sleep well, Mr. President.  You’ll see me in your dreams.

 

This article was published on American Thinker, June 4, 2012.

About Jim Yardley

Retired after 30 years as a financial controller for a variety of manufacturing firms, a two-tour Vietnam veteran, and independent voter.
Gallery | This entry was posted in 2012 election, Barack Obama, Constitution, Economy, Elections, Government Spending, Obamacare, Observing Our Culture, Political Doubletalk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Barack Obama’s Worst Nightmare

  1. In regards to leadership, the power it has to direct citizens into supporting policies they might not usually have supported, what is your view on Mitt Romney. I mean, the whole election race is pretty controversial, what I mean by this eludes to one name : Ron Paul. Iv’e seen over the internet, both YouTube and other sources, the mass of support for Ron Paul’s campaign ( prior to him cancelling it in whole). I had heard that Ron Paul support stickers would be placed on cars on countless occasions while those for Romney were amiss. The people obviously sought Paul to fight for the elections.

    So my question, your opinion on Mitt Romney; both his leadership abilities in regards to influencing his policies and the whole Ron Paul situation as I stated above.

    In regards to Woodrow Wilson, despite the points you made about his own leadership being controversial, he was an honest man no doubt..

    “I am a most unhappy man. I have unwittingly ruined my country. A great industrial nation is controlled by its system of credit. Our system of credit is concentrated. The growth of the nation, therefore, and all our activities are in the hands of a few men. We have come to be one of the worst ruled, one of the most completely controlled and dominated governments in the civilized world. No longer a government by free opinion, no longer a government by conviction and the vote of the majority, but a government by the opinion and duress of a small group of dominant men.” – President Woodrow Wilson: 1916

    Sure he made a crucial mistake, he owned up to it , if it was taken seriously I don’t know.

    • Jim Yardley says:

      I don’t think that there was a massive amount of support for Ron Paul, although the support he did have was very strong. He said a lot of things that needed saying, but he was too ideological, or at least a lot more ideological than most voters felt comfortable with. Keep in mind these are my opinions or impressions.

      He appealed to a certain number of people on economic issues, but his preferences in terms of foreign affairs left a lot of people cold.

      Mitt Romney’s leadership ability? I think as the campaign proceeds we’ll have a clearer idea if Romney can really lead. A lot of unpleasant alternatives face the country, and who ever is president, he will have to explain to the people that although each decision he makes might seem bad, he has to convince them that the alternatives were all a lot worse. As I once read, Irish diplomacy has a facility in this area. It was described as having the ability to tell you to go to hell, but make you look forward to the trip. Romney has to to develop that skill. That’s an important part of what Romney has to be able to do, whether it’s applying any of Ron Paul’s prescriptions or not.

      I guess we’ll just have to agree to disagree on Wilson. I feel Woodrow Wilson succumbed to a disease common to the intellectual elites — the halo effect of a superior education. I think it’s a sort of “I know nearly everything about my area, therefore I must know more than everyone about their area.” It’s patently untrue, yet it seems to permeate the attitudes of many PhDs, and credentialed professionals, like CPAs or lawyers. I believe Wilson fell victim to this, and actually believed it of himself. I won’t go so far as to say he was, again only in my opinion, evil, but he sure as hell wasn’t an early Mother Theresa.

Leave a Reply

